Which current team has the worst finish rate in Austria? How many Austrian drivers have conquered their home event? And what happened here for the last time in 1976? Here’s the Red Bull Ring in numbers!


Despite a Grand Prix being held at the Spielberg track thirty times, no driver has had more than three wins here. This can perhaps be explained by the fact that F1 has visited the track in three different eras: from 1970 to 1987, from 1997 to 2003 and most recently from 2014 to the present day. Alain Prost has the most victories of any driver at the track.


Other than DNFs, no driver has had more repeat results at this track than David Coulthard, who finished as runner-up here four times. The Scotsman finished second in the Austrian Grand Prix four times in a row between 1997 and 2000 before finally winning the event in 2001. Alain Prost, John Watson and Rubens Barrichello are the only drivers to have finished in the same position more than twice at the Austrian circuit. Prost won here three times, Watson recorded three ninth place finishes and Barrichello stood on the final step of the podium three times between 2000 and 2003.


No driver has had more retirements here than Riccardo Patrese. The Italian driver retired from the Austrian Grand Prix eight times during his career, completing the race only twice from his ten appearances. He never scored a point here, either. He finished in a lowly fourteenth in 1980 when driving for Arrows, before coming home tenth in 1984. Even with his tenth place finish, Patrese didn’t actually make the end of the race. He finished three laps down after running out of fuel.


Pole position has been decided by less than a tenth of a second nine times at this circuit, including in both of the last two seasons. The smallest ever pole margin at this track came last season, when Valtteri Bottas secured his second consecutive Austrian Grand Prix pole by just 0.019 seconds.


It took thirteen years from his first attempt for Niki Lauda to finally score his first home Grand Prix win. He remains the only Austrian driver to have won his home event, having done so in 1983.


No driver has taken a podium finish at the Austrian Grand Prix from further back than seventeenth on the grid. That happened in the first race at this track, in 1970, when Rolf Stommelen finished third after starting seventeenth. It was the only podium finish of the German driver’s career.


Toro Rosso have the worst finish rate in Austria of any current team, at just 40%. The team have never been to this track and not seen at least one of their cars retire. Only four of their ten entries have seen the chequered flag – Max Verstappen in 2015, Carlos Sainz in 2016, Daniil Kvyat in 2017 and Pierre Gasly in 2018. Verstappen and Sainz’s finishes are the only occasions where the team has scored points here, with both finishing in eighth.


The shortest Austrian Grand Prix lasted for just under 58 minutes. That was the 1975 race at this track, in which Vittorio Brambilla took his only Formula One victory. Having completed 29 laps in treacherous conditions, Brambilla infamously crashed his car after taking the chequered flag. His victory is the second furthest back (eighth on the grid) the winner has started the Austrian Grand Prix. It was bettered only by Alan Jones in 1977, who won from fourteenth.


McLaren have had the most Grands Prix entries at this track, with 67. The team have had their cars start a race here 66 times. Swedish driver Jo Bonnier’s failure to start due to a fuel leak in 1971 the only time McLaren have recorded a DNS at the circuit. Ferrari are the only other team to have been present on the grid at the first race in Spielberg, though in total they’ve had ten less entries than McLaren. McLaren have entered more than two cars in this race on five occasions, while Ferrari’s only turn entering three cars into the Austrian Grand Prix was in 1970. The Italian team also entered just one car in 1973 and 1982, and missed the race entirely in 1976 in protest.


Lewis Hamilton has scored the most points of any driver at the Red Bull Ring, with 73. Despite not racing in the past two seasons, Nico Rosberg is second on the list, eleven points behind his former team-mate. David Coulthard, Michael Schumacher and Alan Jones are the only drivers who remain in the top ten points-scorers at this track, though they didn’t race here when it was called the Red Bull Ring.


The 1976 Austrian Grand Prix marks the last time a female driver finished a Formula 1 event. Lella Lombardi entered her seventeenth and final race here with RAM Racing. After qualifying 24th, she completed the race four laps down on the leader in twelfth place.

The 2019 Austrian Grand Prix takes place at the Red Bull Ring on June 28 – 30.