How many circuits have hosted a race in the United States? What did Jenson Button do for the last time at this track in 2016? And which milestones have five drivers shared at the United States Grand Prix? Here’s Circuit of The Americas in Numbers!


Red Bull won their third Constructors’ Championship at the 2012 United States Grand Prix, marking the first time in history that a team had won their first three titles in successive years.


With four DNFs at COTA, Nico Hulkenberg is the only driver to have recorded more than two non-finishes at the circuit.


The driver starting from fourth at this circuit has retired in all of the last four seasons; all of whom have been Red Bull drivers. Daniil Kvyat crashed out in 2015, Max Verstappen retired with gearbox issues in 2016, and Daniel Ricciardo retired with mechanical issues in each of the last two years.


Lewis Hamilton is the only driver to have won multiple races at this circuit. He’s won here five times, including a run of four consecutive United States Grand Prix victories from 2014-2017.


Circuit of The Americas is the sixth different circuit to have hosted the United States Grand Prix during its Formula 1 history, after Sebring, Riverside, Watkins Glen, Phoenix and Indianapolis.  Despite only six circuits having hosted the United States Grand Prix, the country has actually had races at ten different tracks in total. Among those additional races are the Caesars Palace Grand Prix, which was held in the car park of the famous Las Vegas casino in 1981 and 1982; Fair Park in Texas, which played host to the one-off Dallas Grand Prix in 1984; and Long Beach, which hosted the United States Grand Prix West between 1976 and 1983. There may well be an eleventh circuit to add to this list soon, with the Miami Grand Prix in the frame to join the calendar in 2021.


Pastor Maldonado’s ninth place finish in 2014 marked the first time in Formula 1 history that the driver of car number 13 has scored points.


Max Verstappen set a new record for most places gained in a race at COTA last year. He gained sixteen positions from his starting place to finish on the second step of the podium. He also gained twelve places in the 2018 race at the track.


In total, 39 different drivers have won a Formula 1 race in the United States, including winners of the Indianapolis 500 when it counted towards the Drivers’ Championship in the 1950s. There could be a 40th different winner in the country this weekend, if someone other than Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel or Kimi Raikkonen wins the race.


The centrepiece of the Circuit of the Americas is the eye-catching observation tower, which stands at 77 metres high. The tower offers 360 degree views of the entire circuit.


Carlos Sainz, Kevin Magnussen and Max Verstappen will all start their 100th races at the 2019 United States Grand Prix. Sebastian Vettel also recorded his 100th start at this track in 2012, while Romain Grosjean started his 100th race here in 2016.


Jenson Button scored the final two points of his Formula 1 career at COTA in 2016. He finished in ninth place for McLaren, bringing his career total to 1,235 points – seventh in the all-time list of top points scorers, a figure which was eclipsed by Valtteri Bottas at the 2019 Japanese Grand Prix.


Kimi Raikkonen claimed victory at the 2018 United States Grand Prix, 2,044 days after his last win at the 2013 Australian Grand Prix. The gap of 114 races is the longest ever between two victories for a driver in Formula 1, while the gap is the fifth longest in terms of time elapsed between wins.


The record attendance figure at Circuit of the Americas is 269,889 – which was the total weekend attendance in 2016. Every race weekend at the track has seen at least 220,000 spectators pass through the gates, with the 2018 race being the fourth best attended of the year.

Upcoming Events