Who is the only driver to score more than one podium in Baku? Which drivers have scored in every race at the track so far? And why should Daniil Kvyat be expecting to retire from this weekend’s Azerbaijan Grand Prix? Here’s the Baku City Circuit in numbers!


No driver has won more than one Grand Prix at the Baku City Circuit. Nico Rosberg won dominantly in 2016, Daniel Ricciardo took an unexpected victory in 2017 and Lewis Hamilton took his first win at the track in 2018.


The polesitter at the Azerbaijan track has gone on to finish on the podium only once in the race’s three-year history. That was Nico Rosberg, in 2016. The polesitter in 2017, Lewis Hamilton, finished fifth due to an extra stop after his headrest came loose, while Sebastian Vettel came home fourth after starting from pole last year.


Sergio Perez is the only driver to have finished on the podium more than once in Baku. He took third place finishes in both 2016 and 2018 with the Force India team. He also qualified on the front row for the inaugural race at the track, but was demoted to seventh on the grid as a result of a gearbox penalty.


The highest number of Safety Car periods in a Grand Prix at the track came in the chaotic 2017 race, which saw four Safety Car outings plus a red flag.


At its narrowest point – at Turns 8 & 9 – the Baku City Circuit is just 7.6 metres wide. It’s the narrowest part of any F1 track on the current calendar. The standard minumum track width for new Formula 1 circuits is 12 metres (15 metres for the starting grid through to the exit of the first corner).


More podium finishes at the Baku City Circuit have come from eighth on the grid than from pole. Two podium finishes, both third places, have come from eighth on the grid – Lance Stroll in 2017 and Sergio Perez in 2018.


In every race at this track, at least eleven drivers have completed every lap of the 51-lap race distance. Last year’s race saw thirteen cars finish on the lead lap – mostly thanks to a Safety Car period late in the race.


The first Grand Prix at the Baku City Circuit saw the highest number of race finishers, with eighteen cars crossing the line. Rio Haryanto finished in eighteenth place.


25 of the 153 racing laps completed so far at the Baku City Circuit (16.3%) have been held behind the Safety Car.


Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel are the only drivers to have scored points in every Grand Prix at the Baku City Circuit. Between them, they’ve scored 87 points at the circuit – that’s 29% of the total points which have been on offer so far from the three Grands Prix here.


There’s a time difference of 31 minutes between the longest and the shortest races at this track. The shortest was the 2016 race, which Nico Rosberg won in just over 92 minutes, while the longest was the 2017 event, which Daniel Ricciardo completed in two hours and three minutes.


Two drivers have a 100% DNF rate at the Baku circuit, and both of them are Russian. Daniil Kvyat retired from both of his appearances at the track in 2016 and 2017, while Sergey Sirotkin retired from his first and only Azerbaijan Grand Prix appearance in 2018. There’s yet to be a race here which hasn’t featured a Russian driver retiring!


The 47th lap of the 2019 Azerbaijan Grand Prix will be the 200th racing lap completed at the circuit in F1 machinery.

The 2019 Azerbaijan Grand Prix at Baku City Circuit is on April 26-28.